Mobile Photography and Memory Traces

On the weekend I went for a drive with a friend down to the seaside suburb of suburb of Mordialloc, which neighbours the Aspendale, the suburb where I grew up. Using the mobile phone has been a good way to capture images on the go and therefore test out ideas that I might not if I was using a film camera. There are of course disadvantages, the main one being that the image quality is not as good as shooting on a medium format film camera, but at this stage I am looking to identify some of the key tropes and/or characteristics that are emerging in my photographs.

Is it possible to visually represent liminal spaces and what is meant by this term? Is the liminality I speak of really about the remembered world and the present? Why is there an absence of people in the images? Using the cameraphone, which fortunately can capture reasonable quality images in a square format, I can get a sense of the type of images I want to produce for this Phd project. More and more I realise that this project is exploring the link between my memories and how I project them onto spaces in the present. Absence and presence, melancholy and loss are words that seem appropriate in describing the key themes emerging in the photographs and the research.

The next stage involves setting up a camera obscura in the same locations. I am now in the process of building a small portable camera obscure which I will take down to Aspendale. Other projects involve the transformation of existing buildings into camera obscures. A lot of experimentation still needs to be done but there are clear theoretical and creative directions that are emerging and informing the production of my photographic practice.

Below are a series of images that I capture on my iPhone at Mordialloc. These images are purely journal images, rather than  finished images. For me, the function of these images is to stimulate memories that will in turn assist the process of developing a more formalised approach to the capture and collection of images. They form a part of the documentation as I work towards establishing the technical and theoretical strategies that will underpin the images for my Phd project.

Boat Building Factory           Boatshed_original

Propellor          hull

steering wheel          wood stack

~ by Dean on February 10, 2015.

Leave a Reply

 
